Sunshine Week: It’s your right to know

The theme for Sunshine Week, March 10 - 16, is simple: “It’s Your Right to Know.”
“The reason it’s your right to know is that it’s your government,” said Jim Zachary, vice president, FOI trainer for the Georgia First Amendment Foundation and editor of the Valdosta, Georgia, Daily Times.
Zachary’s viewpoints on government transparency are straightforward:

Tucker named publisher of The Winnsboro News

The Winnsboro News welcomed a new publisher when Larry Tucker joined the staff following the departure of Bryan Giguere.
A 1973 graduate of East Texas State University, Tucker has a background in newspaper and broadcast journalism and spent two decades working as a teacher and coach.
Tucker’s teaching/coaching career took him to Seguin, Lancaster, Dallas, Clarksville, Wilmer-Hutchins, Yantis, Dallas charter school A+ Academy and North Hopkins.

Past presidents remembered

TPA mourns two past presidents. 107th president Frank K. Baker, 84, Fort Stockton Pioneer, died Jan. 26, in Austin and 134th president Chad Ferguson, 65, The Banner Press Newspaper in Columbus, died Feb. 4.
Baker’s election in 1984 was the first time in the association’s history that the son of a past president took the helm. His father, George Baker, had served as president in 1962-1963.

Critical legislative issues top busy agenda for TPA

Legislative sessions are always hectic, but the 2019 session could be one of the busiest ever for the Texas Press Association.
With the bill-filing deadline for regular legislation still two weeks away as of the Messenger’s deadline, lawmakers already had filed 4,259 pieces of legislation. The total could easily top 7,000 when the filing frenzy comes to an end.

Analysis by by Donnis Baggett, Texas Press Association

TCEQ extends deadline for recycle newsprint reports to Feb. 28

The deadline for annual recycled newsprint reports has been extended this year to Feb. 28, according to Alex Frame of the Texas Commission on Environmental Quality.
Every year, TCEQ collects data on recycled newsprint. Texas law requires that newspaper publishers submit their reports to the TCEQ.  
More information about the reporting requirement is available in the Texas Health and Safety Code, Section 361.430.

TPA celebrates legacy, future as newspaper industry evolves

Roy Eaton and Bob Schieffer sharing stories from 60 years in journalism.

Two old friends reminiscing about the early days of their careers together and sharing stories from more than 60 years in journalism provided some of the most memorable moments of the 2019 Texas Press Association Convention and Trade Show.
Wise County Messenger President Roy Eaton, the 2019 Mayborn Award winner, and legendary broadcast journalist Bob Schieffer, retired CBS News anchor and chief Washington correspondent, sat down together on stage Saturday morning for the final program of the convention. 

Roy Eaton honored with 2019 Mayborn Award

Roy Eaton received the Frank W. Mayborn Award for Community Leadership from TPA President Laurie Ezzell-Brown at the annual TPA convention in Denton.

The Frank W. Mayborn Award for Community Leadership was presented to Roy Eaton, president of the Wise County Messenger, at the closing event of the Texas Press Association convention and trade show in Denton. TPA President Laurie Ezzell Brown made the presentation.
The award includes a $3,000 journalism scholarship to help a student at school of the recipient’s choice. Eaton said he was putting Texas Center for Community Journalism Director Dr. Tommy Thomason in charge of awarding the scholarship to a TCU student.