News & Events

Texas Press Messenger

Colleagues and friends throughout the state are remembering Granite Publications founder Jim Chionsini, a leader in the Texas Newspaper industry for more than four decades. 
Chionsini died July 21 at the age of 74.
No public services were held; however, memorial celebrations are planned.

Obituaries published in the August 2020 edition of the Texas Press Messenger.

James Armand Chionsini

The Aug, 14 Summer Revenue Conference conducted by the Texas Center for Community Journalism has been redesigned in a virtual format, due to concerns about the spread of the coronavirus in Texas.
The Robert Burns Memorial Golf Classic is still on for Aug. 13 at the Lady Bird Johnson Golf Course in Fredericksburg. 

It’s time to start organizing entries for the 2019-20 Texas Better Newspaper Contest.
The online contest platform will open for entries on Monday, Sept. 7, at Deadline for entries is 5 p.m. Monday, Oct. 5.

The Texas Better Newspaper Contest has expanded to 18 categories for the 2019-20 event, giving member newspapers more ways show off their best work in statewide competition.
The contest period for the 2019-20 contest ends Aug. 31. Entries will be accepted Sept. 7 through Oct. 5.

TPA Member Services Director Ed Sterling is retiring July 22 after 28 years of service to the Texas newspaper industry.
“His value to the industry cannot be measured and his absence will be glaringly obvious,” Executive Director Mike Hodges said. “We wish him the very best and hope that he fully realizes how much he is loved by all members of our association.”