Former publisher Chris Barbee elected mayor of El Campo

Past TPA President Chris Barbee, former publisher of the El Campo Leader-News and Wharton Journal-Spectator, is El Campo’s first directly elected mayor.
Barbee, a returning El Campo councilman, earned the post during November balloting thanks to the 2,655 to 884 passage of a City Charter amendment calling for the top vote collector among at-large council members to be named mayor and the second most vote-getter as mayor pro-tem.

2021 Online Media Campus webinars free to members

Texas Press Association has purchased access to the Online Media Campus so that in 2021, members of Texas Press Association will have free access to all webinars and training sessions, TPA Executive Director Mike Hodges announced.  
Through a partnership with America’s Newspapers, press associations may subscribe to Online Media Campus and provide their membership free access to training.

Headliners Foundation releases rules, deadline for annual awards

The Headliners Foundation has announced the rules for the 2020 Showcase Awards and set the deadline for entries on March 8, 2021.
Showcase Awards recognize outstanding journalism that has made a significant impact on Texas government, public policy, culture or the conduct of a business, non-profit or other organization. Entries will be drawn from material submitted online and selected for display in the Showcase section of the Headliners Foundation website.

APME opens annual contest to all Texas newspapers

The Texas Associated Press Managing Editors annual contest for outstanding journalism is now open to all Texas newspapers.
Previously, newspapers had to be members of the Associated Press to enter the contest, but the TxAPME board has removed that requirement.
Papers compete in one of four classifications based on circulation size.
For contest rules and to enter, go to before deadline –
11:59 p.m. Feb. 1, 2021.
Work published in print and online between Jan. 1, 2020, and Dec. 31, 2020, is eligible.

Phillips Publishing, LLC acquires Robertson County News, Franklin Advocate

HEARNE – Phillips Publishing, LLC, Dennis and Teresa Phillips, acquired the Robertson County News and Franklin Advocate from Moser Community Media, LLC, on Dec. 1.
The sale was announced in a joint statement by Dennis Phillips and MCM President Jim Moser.
MCM purchased the 130-year-old Robertson County News in 2010. Dennis Phillips has been publisher and Teresa Phillips has been associate publisher in Robertson County since 2012.

Rita Hamilton appointed publisher of Clifton Record, Meridian Tribune

CLIFTON – Rita Hamilton has returned to Texas as publisher of the Clifton Record and Meridian Tribune.
Hamilton started her career in January 1994 as an administrative assistant to a publisher at a Gannett paper in Chambersburg, Pennsylvania. She was with Gannett almost 18 years, serving in Shreveport  and Alexandria, Louisiana. Later, she moved to Texas and worked at the Greenville and Huntsville papers as part of CNHI. From there she moved to Middlesboro, Kentucky, where she led two papers in Kentucky and one in Tennessee.