Delayed 2021 convention provides members post-pandemic reunion

Outgoing TPA President Ramona Ferguson is honored by incoming President Jim Bardwell with a plaque commemorating her year of service. As immediate past president, Ferguson chairs the TPA board of directors.

DENTON – Jim Bardwell received the gavel of Texas Press Association presidential leadership from a long line of predecessors at the 141st TPA Convention and Trade Show in Denton.

TPA honors H. V. O’Brien with Frank Mayborn Award

Eastland County Today Publisher H.V. O’Brien and his daughter, Amy O’Brien-Glenn, show off the 2021 Mayborn Award.

DENTON – The Texas Press Association honored veteran newspaper publisher and book author H.V. O’Brien with the Frank W. Mayborn Award for Outstanding Community Leadership.
TPS President Jim Bardwell presented the award June 12 at the concluding luncheon of the TPA Convention and Trade Show in Denton.
O’Brien, editor and publisher of Eastland County Today, noted that he and his wife, Gaynell, have been associated with the newspapers in Eastland County since 1962. 

Collins wins Hartman Award for third time

Alvin Sun and Advertiser Sports Editor Stephen Collins shows off his third Fred Hartman Award for Excellence in Sports Writing. With him was Dan Moore, who presented the award.

DENTON – Alvin Sun and Advertiser Sports Editor Stephen Collins has taken home this third Fred Hartman Award for Excellence in Sports Writing.
The award was presented by former Sun and Advertiser Publisher Dan Moore at the TPA Convention and Trade Show in Denton. Moore currently publishes the Henderson News.
Collins was also honored in 2014 and in 2019.
Thanking the Hartman family, TPA and his family, Collins also noted that this time was extra special because he was able to celebrate the award with his new bride, Josephine Collins, whom he married in March.

Newspapers come out OK in messy legislative session

It was an underwhelming legislative session — not only because of the trash talk, partisan bickering and walkouts, but because of weather and health crises that were delivered by Mother Nature and made messier by the masked-up members of mankind. When the smoke cleared, however, the 2021 session of the Texas Legislature that ended with so much public business left undone was a positive one for the Texas newspaper industry.  

Analysis By Donnis Baggett, Texas Press Association

Vendors display products, services in TPA Trade Show

DENTON – Vendors demonstrated and shared their products and services with TPA members at the 141st Convention and Trade Show in Denton.
Sponsored by eType Services, the trade show kicked off convention events with a reception Thursday evening. Trade show hours continued on Friday morning.
A complete list of vendors is included in the 2021 Buyers Guide on the TPA website, The list includes links to the vendors’ individual websites.

TPA, LAC officials credit Texas publishers in battle to keep public notices in newspapers

As the 87th Texas Legislature concluded on Memorial Day, May 31, TPA Legislative Advisory Committee officials were confident the biennial barrage of legislation threatening public notice in newspapers would not make it through the final hours.
TPA Executive Vice President Donnis Baggett credited the work of Texas newspaper publishers in contacting their legislators, testifying in Austin, filing comments online and publishing columns and editorials to make the case for keeping public notices in newspapers.

Industry news

Wise County Messenger honors high school UIL journalism state qualifiers 
DECATUR – Three Wise County seniors, who were UIL Academic state journalism qualifiers, recently received the inaugural Ken Roselle Excellence in Journalism honor from the Wise County Messenger.
Messenger President/Owner Roy Eaton, Publisher Kristen Tribe and Editor Richard Greene presented the honor along with a $100 scholarship to Jacob Richey and Tony Howerton from Bridgeport High School and Hailey Holt from Paradise High School.