Jan. 3 is deadline to register for 140th TPA Convention and Trade Show

The registration deadline is approaching for Texas Press Association’s 140th Convention & Trade Show Jan. 16-18 at Moody Gardens Hotel, Convention Center and Spa in Galveston.
Members are encouraged to register soon, since Jan. 3 is the deadline for hotel reservations. Online registration via credit card is available at Members may also opt to download registration forms to mail in with payment.

Trailblazing journalists comprise 2020 Hall of Fame class

AUSTIN — Four news professionals — H. Deskins “Deck” Wells, George McElroy, Cyndy Slovak-Barton and Bob Dillard — will be inducted into the Texas Newspaper Foundation Hall of Fame on Jan. 17.
The induction ceremony will take place during the Texas Press Association 2020 Convention and Trade Show at Moody Gardens Hotel, Spa & Convention Center in Galveston. 

Hawkins named publisher of Brownfield News

BROWNFIELD – Christy Hawkins has become publisher of the Brownfield News, succeeding former editor and publisher Brian Brisendine, who is now executive director of the Brownfield Industrial Development Corp.
Hawkins is also publisher of the Seminole Sentinel, where she succeeded the late Lynn Brisendine two years ago. She has been with the company for 23 years. 
The announcement was made by Blake Roberts of the Roberts Publishing Group.

News-Telegram welcomes new publisher Clark Smith

SULPHUR SPRINGS – Clark Smith is the new publisher of the News-Telegram, succeeding interim publisher Don Moore.
Moore said Smith is a newspaper veteran with experience in every phase of the industry.
Smith came to Sapphire Springs from Mena, Arkansas, where he was publisher of the Mena Star. 
Previously, he was a group publisher for the Liberty Group, overseeing six newspapers in Arkansas and Louisiana. 

Keven Todd joins Lufkin Daily News as publisher

LUFKIN – Keven Todd is the new publisher of the Lufkin Daily News.
Southern Newspapers Inc. President Dolph Tillotson noted that “Todd is a very experienced newspaper man who has run newspapers that are similar in size and mission to The Lufkin News.”
Todd has more than 40 years experience in the newspaper industry. 

Hall of Fame, TPA award nominations due Oct. 15

Deadline is approaching for nominations to the Texas Newspaper Hall of Fame and for annual TPA awards, including the Golden 50 Award, the Mayborn Award and the Hartman Award for Excellence in Sports Writing.
The Texas Newspaper Hall of Fame exists to honor dedicated Texas professionals who made a difference in their local communities, raised journalistic standards, then encouraged and inspired others.