Mount Pleasant Tribune welcomes Rowan as publisher

MOUNT PLEASANT – Toni Rowan is the new editor and publisher of the Mount Pleasant Tribune, Pittsburg Gazette and Steel Country Bee.
The announcement was made by Mark Henry of Northeast Texas Publishing, LP. “We are happy to have Toni join us as the new leader for these newspapers,” he said. “We are confident she will help the newspapers better serve the readers, advertisers and communities throughout the counties.”

Awards highlight annual convention

Mike Probst, editor and publisher of the Rockport Pilot, was surprised when the Frank W. Mayborn Award for outstanding community leadership was presented to him at the awards brunch at the closing of the 140th TPA Convention and Trade Show in Galveston. Outgoing president Laurie Ezell-Brown made the presentation.

Rockport Pilot Publisher Mike Probst received the Frank W. Mayborn Award for outstanding community leadership in a presentation that came as a complete surprise, at least to him.
The presentation was part of the closing brunch of the 140th TPA Convention and Trade Show in Galveston.
The award recognizes a publisher or newspaper executive who has made significant contributions over the past year to the industry and the community. It is presented annually, and keeping the secret is challenging for TPA officials and for family members of the honoree.

140th TPA convention celebrates community newspapers as leaders in local news

Newly installed TPA President Ramona Ferguson (left) presents Laurie Ezzell Brown with a plaque commemorating her term as president. Officers installed in June 2018 served terms of 18 months as the organization made the transition to January officer installation.

Ramona Ferguson, publisher of the Banner Press Newspaper in Columbus, was elected president of the Texas Press Association at the 140th TPA Convention and Trade Show in Galveston.
She succeeds Laurie Ezzell Brown, who is now chairman of the TPA board of directors. TPA’s transition to officer installation in January is now complete after officers installed in June 2018 served terms spanning 18 months.

Know open government rights by remembering these basics

Whatever our political views, certainly we can agree we have the right to know how government is conducting business. How are taxpayer dollars spent? Who is influencing decisions?
Access to information allows us to speak up and hold public officials accountable, while a lack of transparency diminishes trust in government.

By Kelley Shannon, Executive Director, FOIFT

Silent auction marks 20 years as foundation benefit

Many auction items are already pledged, but more donations are needed for the 20th silent auction benefiting the Texas Newspaper Foundation. 

Items will be on view and bidding will be open during the 140th Convention & Trade Show trade show Thursday evening, Jan. 16, and Friday morning, Jan. 17, at the Moody Gardens Hotel, Convention Center and Spa in Galveston.