2017 Better Newspaper Contest Awards announced

Texas Better Newspaper Contest Sweepstakes winners on hand to accept their newspapers' awards at the Summer Leadership Retreat were Mike Forman, Victoria Advocate; Jerry Tidwell, Hood County News; J.L. Mankin, Big Lake Wildcat; Kim Ware, Azle News; Laurie Brown, The Canadian News; and James Draper, Kilgore News Herald. Other sweepstakes winners were The Daily Sentinel, Nacogdoches, the Rockdale Reporter and the Westlake Picayune.

RUIDOSO, NM – The 2017 Texas Better Newspaper Awards were announced during the awards brunch at the Texas Press Leadership Retreat held this year at the Inn of the Mountain Gods.
This year, 143 newspapers submitted 1,410 entries in the contest. The results are published annually in the TPA Winners’ Circle and a list of winners by newspaper is available now by clicking here.
Sweepstakes winners are Victoria Advocate, Division 2; Nacogdoches Daily Sentinel, Division 3; Hood County News, Granbury, Division 4; Kilgore News Herald, Division 5; Rockdale Reporter, Division 6; Azle News, Division 7; The Canadian Record, Division 8; Westlake Picayune, Division 9; and Big Lake Wildcat, Division 10.
 The Frank Mayborn Award for Community Service was presented to Jim Moser of Moser Community Media. The award was presented by Moser's father, Charles Moser, who is a past recipient of the award. TPA President Randy Keck noted that they are the only father and son recipients in the history of the award.
The Fred Hartman Award for Excellence in Sports Writing was presented to Mike Forman of the Victoria Advocate.
The 2017 Texas Better Newspaper Contest was judged by members of the Louisiana Press Association as part of the annual BNC “swap.” In 2018,the contest will be judged by members of the Nebraska Press Association.