Texas Medical Association accepting entries for Anson Jones Awards

Jan. 10 is deadline for entries in the Texas Medical Association’s Anson Jones awards recognizing general interest journalists in 11 award categories tailored for print media by market size and story length, for online media, and for radio and television. 
Those who covered health or medical stories this year, from issues in the state and national spotlights to homegrown news, are encouraged to enter their work. Up to four entries may be entered in one or more categories. Any work published in 2018 is eligible. 
The Texas Health Journalist of the Year recognizes a body of health coverage work from the contest period. San Antonio Express-News reporter Melissa Fletcher Stoeltje is the most recent winner of the Texas Health Journalist of the Year title. Her winning package included stories on the opioid crisis and the effects on women’s health of the Texas Legislature’s defunding of Planned Parenthood.
TMA physicians and members of TMA’s Council on Health Promotion judge the competition, along with respected former journalists from the news publishing and broadcast fields. 
It’s free to enter, and prize money ranging from $500 to $1,000 will be awarded. Entries are due by noon on Jan. 10.
Entry forms are available online. For more information contact  Tammy Wishard, TMA outreach coordinator, at (512) 370-1470, or email ansonjones@texmed.org. Information is also available on the TMA website, www.texmed.org.