Past Presidents

Texas Press Association Past Presidents

More than 140 men and women have lead the association since its inception in 1880. In the early days, the president managed association affairs for the membership. TPA hired its first full-time executive director in 1947.

The TPA president is elected by the general membership at each annual Summer Convention and serves one year until the close of the next summer meeting.

The TPA president is the highest elected official in the association and is granted honorary membership for life after completing his or her term.