North and East Texas Press Association plans annual convention

With the North and East Texas Press Association’s 91st annual convention set March 16-18, entry deadline for the regional group’s newspaper contest is fast approaching.

Contest entries are due Feb. 5, according to Todd A. Griffith, NETPA contest chairman. Awards will be presented at the NETPA convention in Sulphur Springs. 

In addition, the group is accepting applications for the annual scholarship.

The NETPA contest includes 13 major categories for entries published during 2016, including awards for journalist of the year, photographer of the year, special section or special edition, community service and sweepstakes. In addition to the NETPA, contest rules and entry labels are available on the Texas Press Association website at this link:

Entry fee of $25 which covers all entries submitted by each newspaper. Entries must be received (not postmarked) by Feb. 5 and mailed to Chairman Todd A. Griffith, Wise County Messenger, P.O. Box 149, Decatur, TX 76234-0149. For more information, call Griffith at 940-627-5987.

Annually, the NETPA awards two scholarships, one to a graduating high school senior and one to a currently enrolled college student. The scholarship application may be accessed on the NETPA and ILPC websites as well as the Texas Press Association website at this link:

 For more information or to receive materials by email, contact NETPA Presdient Suzanne Bardwell at 903-845-2235 or by email to

The convention planned March 16-18 includes several sessions on topics ranging from public relations and local newspapers, sports coverage, outdoors and the media, magic and a talk by Pulitzer Prize finalist George Getschow. Fun activities include bingo, a St. Patrick’s Day theme dinner and Main Street experience, a scholarship benefit auction and the Better Newspaper Contest Awards Brunch.

Headquarters for the convention will be the Holiday Inn Express & Suites in Sulphur Springs. Special rates for rooms and suites are available through the advance registration deadline Friday, Feb. 19. Advance registration fees are $100 per person through Feb. 19 and $130 per person after the deadline. Tickets to attend just the Saturday awards brunch are $50 per person. In addition to NETPA, a registration form is available at this link:
   or by calling Brian Giguere at 903-573-5750.