Barbara Jordan Media Awards call for nominations

The Texas Governor’s Committee on People with Disabilities announces the Barbara Jordan Media Awards call for nominations for media content created or published in 2016. 

The award is presented in several different categories, including TV Feature, Internet, Photojournalism, etc. There is no fee for entries. Winners are selected by a panel of professional journalists, people with disabilities and professionals in the field of disabilities.

The Barbara Jordan Media Awards recognize journalists who portray people with disabilities in a respectful, positive manner. It is the organization’s belief that journalists help shape our culture and our perceptions, and that well-produced, creative stories showing a person with a disability as a person first benefits us all.

Deadline for submissions is Feb. 17 for stories produced, published and/or distributed in Texas in 2016, although entries can be submitted at any time. An exception is the 2017 Director’s Challenge for a short student video or public service announcement produced in response to the call by the Governor’s Committee on People With Disabilities for a student video on a current disability topic or issue being addressed by the committee. 

This year’s Director’s Challenge seeks short student videos (30 or 60 seconds) submitted by Texas college students that promote accessible parking availability and discourage illegal parking in accessible parking spaces. More information is available on the committee’s website in the report entitled “A Review of Accessible Parking for Persons with Disabilities.” 

Self-nominations are welcome and encouraged in all categories. More information, submission guidelines and entry forms are available on the website.

The 2017 Barbara Jordan Media Awards will be presented April 13 at the University of North Texas. The awards luncheon is hosted by the UNT Mayborn School of Journalism.