About awards

Lone Star Writing Award winners announced
Winners have been announced in the 2018 Lone Star Writing Contest for high school students, co-sponsored by the Interscholastic League Press Conference and the Texas Press Association.
Winners in each category were:
Small school (1A-4A) winners:
First Place - Kylie Sledge, Thrall High School, published by the Taylor Press.
Second Place - Morgan Coleman, Fairfield High School, published by the Freestone County Times.
Third Place - Braden Bossier, Fairfield High School, published by the Freestone County Times.
Large school (5A-6A) winners:
First Place - Macy McClish, Canyon High School, published by The Canyon News.
Second Place - Erin Sheffield, Canyon High School, published by The Canyon News.
Third Place - Ryah Hill, Wylie East high School, published by The Wylie News.
The entry period for the 2019 contest will be announced in the fall.
2019 Texas Gavel Awards
AUSTIN — Submissions are sought for the 2019 Texas Gavel Awards, which honor outstanding journalism fostering public understanding of the legal system.
Entries published or broadcast during the 2018 calendar year will be accepted for print, broadcast, and online categories until 5 p.m. March 29. There is no entry fee.
The awards will be presented at the Freedom of Information Foundation of Texas’ annual conference in September.
The Texas Gavel Awards recognize excellence in journalism that educates the public about the rule of law, the legal profession and the judicial branch of government; and discloses practices or procedures needing correction to improve the practice of law, the courts, or the justice system.
The Texas Gavel Awards program is coordinated and sponsored by the State Bar of Texas Public Affairs Committee. An independent panel of professionals will judge the entries.
The State Bar of Texas has created an online entry form to aid in the submission process. To view eligibility requirements and submission guidelines and to submit an entry, visit texasbar.com/gavelawards.
North, East Texas Press accepting scholarship applications
The North and East Texas Press Association, in conjunction with the Texas Press Association, will award two $1,500 scholarships, one to a graduating high school senior and one to a currently enrolled college student.
Deadline to apply is March 21.
Applicants must be from the area served by NETPA and have a declared major in journalism/communications/photojournalism. Preference is given to print majors.
The scholarships are payable at $750 per semester to the registrar of the college of the recipient’s choice after the scholarship recipient has sent proof of registration.
Application for the 2019 scholarship awards may be downloaded from the association’s website, www.netpa.us.
Carolyn C. Mattingly Award for Mental Health Reporting
The National Press Foundation established this award in 2015 to honor excellence in mental health reporting. The award, which carries a $10,000 prize, is called the Carolyn C. Mattingly Award for Mental Health Reporting, in memory of the Potomac, Maryland philanthropist and activist. 
The award is open to U.S.-based journalists in any media. The award recognizes exemplary journalism that illuminates and advances the understanding of mental health issues and treatments for the illness.
Entries should include journalism published or broadcast in calendar year 2018.
The deadline for entries is Friday, March 15, 2019.
For more information, visit the National Press Foundation website, www.nationalpress.org.