2010 Better Newspaper Contest


Click here for Winners Circle as PDF


Results By Category

Column Writing
Feature Photo
Feature Story
General Excellence
Headline Writing
News Photo
News Writing
Page Design
Sports Coverage
Sports Photo
Special Sections
Community Service


Results by Newspaper


For Division 1: (Dailies 100,000 or More)
No entries were received in the Large Dailies Division.

This year 172 newspapers submitted 1,743 entries in the Better Newspaper Contest. The contest is broken down into 10 divisions in which newspapers compete against papers of similar circulation size.

Weeklies compete under a unique division system in which the total number of weekly entrants is divided equally into five divisions based on descending circulation — this year 116 weeklies entered so there were 23 newspapers each in Divisions 6-9 and 24 in Division 10.

Dailies and Semiweeklies compete in fixed circulation breaks: Division 1 Dailies 100,000 or More (compete in General Excellence only); Division 2 Dailies 7,000 to 99,999; Division 3 Dailies Less Than 7,000; Division 4 Semiweeklies 4,001 or More; and Division 5 Semiweeklies 4,000 or Less.
First-place winners receive plaques and second- through fourth-place winners earn certificates. Sweepstakes points are earned for each division, except Division 1, based on point accumulation in contest categories (excluding Community Service & Special Sections) - 1st Place: 100 points; 2nd Place: 75 points; 3rd Place: 50 points; and 4th Place: 25 points. The awards were announced June 19th at the 131st Summer Convention in San Antonio.

The Winners’ Circle is an annual publication saluting the Better Newspaper Contest winners. Judges’ comments on first- through fourth-place winners are reprinted along with samples of winning entries.

2010 Contest Rules