UIL announces Lone Star Writing contest awards

Awards in the annual Lone Star Writing Contest for high school students have been released.
The contest is co-sponsored by Texas Press Association and the Interscholastic League Press Conference.
In congratulating the winners, Jeanne Acton, assistant academic director and UIL ILPC director, noted that “even during this pandemic, Texas scholastic journalists showed they can still produce showcased solid reporting and writing. The competition this year was robust, and judging the contest was no easy task.”
Winners are:
Big School Winners (5A-6A) 
First Place: Katie Mcaellan, Vandegrift High School, for her work published in the Four Points News 
Second Place : Shelby Perry, Wylie East High School,  for work published in the Wylie News 
Third Place: Ritsuki (Ricky) Kai, Bellaire High School, for work published in The Buz. Magazines 
Mid-Small School Winners(1A-4A) 
First Place : Chris Ybarra, Lampasas High School, for work published in the Lampasas Dispatch Record 
Second Place : Nicole Butcher, Canyon High School, for work published in The Canyon News 
Third Place: Sydney Knaack, Victoria Nowell and Elyssa Trujillo, Ozona High School for work published in The Ozona Stockman