Jan. 3 is deadline to register for 140th TPA Convention and Trade Show

The registration deadline is approaching for Texas Press Association’s 140th Convention & Trade Show Jan. 16-18 at Moody Gardens Hotel, Convention Center and Spa in Galveston.
Members are encouraged to register soon, since Jan. 3 is the deadline for hotel reservations. Online registration via credit card is available at www.texaspress.com/convention-and-trade-show. Members may also opt to download registration forms to mail in with payment.
TPA’s convention agenda will focus on programs designed to help newspapers assess and improve their editorial coverage and ideas for generating more revenue.
The convention kicks off Thursday, Jan. 16, with the opening of the annual trade show sponsored by eType services, featuring dozens of vendors, door prizes and demonstrations. Various group meetings are scheduled for the afternoon, with the trade show opening reception beginning at 6 p.m.
Also featured in the trade show hall will be the annual silent auction benefiting the Texas Newspaper Foundation. Several sure-to-be-popular items already have been collected and more donations are welcome. Contact TPA Executive Director Mike Hodges at mhodges@texaspress.com for information and to donate. 
A hospitality event is planned after the reception.
The trade show continues from 7:30 a.m. until 11:30 a.m. Friday, Jan. 17. The silent auction ends at 11:45 a.m. Friday’s luncheon, sponsored by the Branson/Lakes Area Convention & Visitors Bureau, follows the trade show at 12:15 p.m.
The luncheon speaker is Yvonne Mintz, publisher of The Facts in Clute. She will discuss practical ideas on editorial standards to make newspapers’ content  stronger and help them connect better with readers.
General session programs, including a legislative session review, fill the afternoon. Among the speakers are TPA President Laurie Brown, editor and publisher of the Canadian Record; Brandi Chionsini and Scott Coleman, Fenice Community Media; Brad Hill of Interlink on postal issues; and Legislative Advisory Committee Chairman Bill Patterson, Denton Record Chronicle, along with TPA Executive Vice President Donnis Baggett.  
The annual Texas Newspaper Hall of Fame induction ceremonies and banquet are scheduled at 6:30 p.m. Friday. (See related story.) The Galveston County Daily News will host a hospitality event following the dinner.
Since the January event is now the association’s only convention of the year, the TPA general membership session will be held at 8 a.m. Saturday, Jan. 18. During the assembly, the membership will elect officers and directors.
In addition, member-led discussions are planned later in the morning. Speakers include Jim Moser of Moser Community Media; Leonard Woolsey, publisher of The Galveston County Daily News; and Pat Canty, publisher of the Odessa American.  
The closing brunch is set for 10:30 a.m. Saturday when the Frank W. Mayborn Award for Community Leadership will be presented and awards in the Texas Better Newspaper Contest will be announced.