APME opens annual contest to all Texas newspapers

The Texas Associated Press Managing Editors annual contest for outstanding journalism is now open to all Texas newspapers.
Previously, newspapers had to be members of the Associated Press to enter the contest, but the TxAPME board has removed that requirement.
Papers compete in one of four classifications based on circulation size.
For contest rules and to enter, go to TAPMEcontest.org before deadline –
11:59 p.m. Feb. 1, 2021.
Work published in print and online between Jan. 1, 2020, and Dec. 31, 2020, is eligible.
There are more than 30 online and print categories to enter, including photography, writing, reporting and design, among others.
There are also six Star Award categories, presented in conjunction with the Headliners Foundation of Texas, that carry cash prizes. Winners of Star Awards in each classification will receive $500. From those classification winners, an overall winner for each category will be awarded a Charles E. Green Award from the Headliners Foundation.
The Charles E. Green Award winner for each Star category will receive a crystal trophy, a cash prize of $1,000 and an invitation to attend the Mike Quinn Awards luncheon in Austin at the Headliners Club to be recognized and to accept their award.
For more information about Texas APME, go to txapme.com.