NETPA holds 92nd convention

Tom Mooney Friend of the Newspaper award honorees Glenn and Betsy McNeill.
Longtime Wise County Messenger photographer Joe Duty (left) received the Sam C. Holloway Award at the 2018 North and East Texas Press Association annual awards brunch. Messenger Publisher Roy Eaton presented the plaque. The award honors an outstanding NETPA member and journalist who has gone above and beyond the call of duty in support of the association while also upholding high standards of journalistic integrity and service to the community. For more than a decade, Duty has been the man behind the camera for the Messenger, shooting hundreds of community events and ballgames, along with breaking news. His photographs have garnered many national, state and regional awards - and he added more first-place photography awards in the 2018 NETPA contest.

Holloway Award and Mooney Award winners were honored and contest results were announced when the North and East Texas Press Association met in Granbury for the 92nd annual convention.
The Sam C. Holloway Award, honoring an outstanding NETPA member who upholds high standards of journalistic integrity and service to the community, was presented to Joe Duty of the Wise County Messenger. 
The Tom Mooney Friend of the Newspaper award was presented to Van Zandt County newspaper veterans Glenn and Betsy McNeill Jr. for their contributions to the Texas Press Association and to NETPA.
In addition to informative sessions and speakers, members celebrated awards in the annual NETPA Better Newspaper Contest. Contest Chairman Brad Blakemore presented the awards.
Sweepstakes winners were The Athens Review, small daily; Texarkana Gazette, large daily; Hood County News, semi-weekly; The Wylie News, weekly division 3; The Dublin Citizen, weekly division4; and the Gladewater Mirror, weekly division 5.
A complete list of winners is available online at
New NETPA officers are Bryan Giguere, Winnsboro News, board chairman; Rick Craig, Hood County News, president; Brad Blakemore, Van Zandt Newspapers, LLC, first vice president and convention chairman; Wyndi Veigel, Farmersville Times-Princeton Herald, second vice president and contest chairman; Cher Thompson, Hood County News, secretary treasurer; and directors Jake Mienk, Palestine Herald-Press; Joyce Hathcock, Mineola Monitor; Lange Svehlak, Athens Daily Review; Jim Bardwell, Gladewater Mirror; and James Draper, Kilgore News Herald.
Outgoing President Bryan Giguere recognized sponsors of the event: Azle News, Bluebonnet Publishing, CenturyLink, Community News, Gladewater Mirror, Hood County News, Metro Creative Graphics, Inc., Mount Vernon Optic-Herald, Texas Press Association, Tyler Morning Telegraph, Wise County Messenger and Van Zandt News.
The 2019 NETPA convention will be held next spring in Tyler.