2013 Texas Better Newspaper Contest
Tuesday, 18 June 2013 00:00


Sponsored by the Texas Press Association 

The Results of the 2013 Contest

Download a PDF of the Winners' Circle publication 

Download the Award Winners' Logo



Column Writing
Feature Photo
Feature Story
General Excellence
Headline Writing
News Photo
News Writing
Page Design
Sports Coverage
Sports Photo
Special Sections
Community Service

This year 148 newspapers submitted 1,505 entries in the Texas Better Newspaper Contest. The contest is broken down into 10 divisions in which newspapers compete against papers of similar circulation size. 

Weeklies compete under a unique division system in which the total number of weekly entrants is divided into five divisions based on descending circulation — this year 94 weeklies entered so there were 19 newspapers each in Divisions 6-9 and 18 newspapers in Divisions 10.

Dailies and Semiweeklies compete in fixed circulation breaks: Division 1 Dailies 100,000 or More (compete in General Excellence only); Division 2 Dailies 7,000 to 99,999; Division 3 Dailies Less Than 7,000; Division 4 Semiweeklies 4,001 or More; and Division 5 Semiweeklies 4,000 or Less. 

First place winners receive plaques and second through fourth place winners earn certificates. Sweepstakes points are earned for each division, except Division 1, based on point accumulation in contest categories (excluding Community Service & Special Sections) - 1st Place: 100 points; 2nd Place: 75 points; 3rd Place: 50 points; and 4th Place: 25 points. The awards were announced June 22, 2013, at the Hyatt Regency Houston.

The Winners’ Circle is an annual publication saluting the Better Newspaper Contest winners. Judges’ comments on first through fourth place winners are reprinted along with samples of winning entries. The 2013 contest was judged by the Arkansas Press Association as part of the annual Better Newspaper Contest swap.