South Texas Press enjoys 88th convention in Hill Country setting
Friday, 30 May 2014 10:35


On April 17-19, members convened in Kerrville for the 88th annual South Texas Press Association conference.
The meeting kicked off on Friday morning with a presentation from Broc Sears with the Texas Center for Community Journalism.
Sears provided tips on Newspaper Design Fundamentals and Design on a Dime.
He has an extensive journalism background and he joined the TCU journalism faculty as an adjunct in 2002, became a full-time lecturer in 2008 and was appointed internship director in 2011.
Sears teaches classes in communication graphics, interactive design, and is a workshop director for the Texas Center for Community Journalism.
On Friday afternoon, the winners of 2014 STPA Better Newspaper Contest were announced. Click here to view the results.

On Friday evening, members enjoyed a dinner overlooking the Texas Hill Country at the Pinnacle Club.
The conference concluded on Saturday afternoon with the final awards presentation. Bill Berger was recognized with a 50th Anniversary Past President award. Graham Dodson, of American Electric Power, received the Red Gibson Award. Lastly, Schulenburg Sticker Publisher Emeritus, Joe and Maxine Vyvjala, were honored with the Chester Evans Award. This award is bestowed each year in recognition of long-time dedication to the South Texas Press Association.
Board members were elected as follows: Cyndy Slovak-Barton, Hays Free Press, chairman of the board; Larry Hauk, Cove Banner - Copperas Cove, president; Kathy Cooke, Rockdale Reporter, first vice president; Kim Jung, Fredericksburg Standard Radio-Post, second vice president; Jeff Berger, Hondo Anvil Herald, secretary/treasurer; Mary Judson, Port Aransas South Jetty, assistant to the president; and Larry Jackson, assistant to the president.
Directors of the Board are as follows: Brandi Chionsini Guy, Granite Publications; Melissa Perner, Ozona Stockman; Lisa Mederos, Schulenburg Sticker; Joyce Hauk, Cove Banner - Copperas Cove; Regina Keilers, The Fayette County Record; Chris Maher, Kingsville Record; Marc Robertson, Frio-Nueces Current; Jason Jarrett, Austin American Statesman; and Sue Brown, Pleasanton Express.
Next year's STPA conference will be held on April 16-18 at the Port Royal Ocean Resort in Port Aransas.


Messenger Staff

Micheal Hodges

Allison Rentfro

Advertising Consultant
Diane Byram

For questions or corrections please call the editor at 512-477-6755 or email

Subscription rate $6 per year
Single issue 50 cents

© Texas Press Messenger, 2014 (ISSN 1521-7523). Published monthly by Texas Press Service, a business affiliate of Texas Press Association. Periodicals postage paid at Austin, Texas, and additional mailing office, USPS 541-440. Printed by Hood County News in Granbury, Texas.