Upcoming Awards
Friday, 07 February 2014 14:51

This year, the New Mexico Press Association will be judging our Better Newspaper Contest. Entries may be uploaded beginning February 10 and until March 21 at 5 p.m.
As a reminder, if you are submitting an entry in the General Excellence Routine Special Section, Blue Moon Special Section or Community Service categories, use www.issuu.com to create an e-reader of your publication. Do not upload large, multi-page files, as this slows down process. Also, you may need to combine files and reduce the size of your final PDF.
Simply upload your pages to Issuu and a unique URL will be created that can be added to your online contest entry and will take the judge directly to your content on www.issuu.com. A pamphlet explaining in greater depth about continuing with the digital format that was implemented last year is available online at www.texaspress.com. The pamphlet was also mailed out to member newspapers. If you have any questions during the submission process contact TPA's contest coordinator, Allison Rentfro, at This e-mail address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it  or 512-477-6755. You can also visit the Q+A Blog for further help.

DEADLINE: MAY 2, 5 P.M. | SEND ENTRIES TO This e-mail address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it
This year, the contest is open to any journalist currently employed with a Texas newspaper under 10,000 in circulation.
The Fred Hartman Excellence in Sportswriting Award, sponsored by Hartman Newspapers L.P., gives an opportunity for Texas sportswriters to claim $1,000 and the title of best sportswriter in Texas. With Hartman recently being inducted into the Texas Newspaper Foundation Hall of Fame, this award becomes a little bit more special. Hartman became a newspaper owner later in his career, but he never lost his passion for sportswriting.
Each year the contest alternates between two fixed circulation breaks: over 10,000 and under 10,000. If you currently work for a Texas newspaper under 10,000 in circulation, submit digital tear sheets of five of your best sports stories orginally published during the calendar year 2013. All entries must be e-mailed or transferred via a file sharing service (like Google Docs or Dropbox) to Allison Rentfro, at This e-mail address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it by 5 p.m. on Friday, May 2. Multiple sportswriters from the same paper may enter, but all contest entries must be submitted by an editor or publisher. The winner will be announced at TPA's annual newspaper contest awards ceremony at the TPA Newspaper Leadership Retreat, Holiday Inn Corpus Christi Hotel - Marina Tower on June 21.

for Community Leadership
DEADLINE: MAY 2, 5 P.M. | SEND NOMINATIONS TO This e-mail address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it
Sue Mayborn, publisher of the Temple Daily Telegram and Killeen Daily Herald, established this former TDNA award in 1992 to honor the commendable leadership and service demonstrated by her late husband, Frank W. Mayborn.
The Frank W. Mayborn Award for Community Leadership is awarded annually to a publisher or newspaper executive who showed great dedication to his or her community during the past year. The candidate should be current (not necessarily spanning the candidate's lifetime). The nominee should also have exhibited exemplary leadership to his or her community (city, state or nation), but that which reflected credit upon the newspaper business. Nominations must be submitted in writing and should include biographical information, as well as supporting documents explaining qualifications. There are no limitations regarding the length of information submitted, but conciseness and clarity are encouraged.
The newspaper executive chosen by the selection committee will be awarded a plaque and will name a Texas college or university of his or her choice to receive a scholarship award of $3,000. School officials will then select an outstanding full-time student journalist to receive the scholarship award.
The deadline for submitting is Friday, May 2 at 5 p.m. The award will be presented at TPA's annual newspaper contest awards ceremony at the Corpus Christi Holiday Inn - Marina Tower on June 21, following the Newspaper Executive Retreat.

Starting Jan. 7, 2014, the State Bar of Texas is accepting entries for the 2014 Texas Gavel Awards, which recognize excellence in legal reporting during the 2013 calendar year. Entries in the print, broadcast, and online categories will be accepted until 5 p.m. April 1. There is no entry fee.
The Texas Gavel Awards program is coordinated by the State Bar of Texas Public Affairs Committee and judged by an independent panel. Awards will be presented Sept. 12 in Austin in conjunction with the Freedom of Information Foundation of Texas annual conference.
Texas Gavel Awards recognize journalism that fosters public understanding of the legal system; educates the public about the law, the legal profession, and the judicial branch of government; and discloses practices or procedures needing correction to improve the practice of law, the courts, or the justice system.
Complete eligibility requirements and submission guidelines can be found in the downloadable brochure on their website, where winning entries from prior years can also be viewed.


Messenger Staff

Micheal Hodges

Allison Rentfro

Advertising Consultant
Diane Byram

For questions or corrections please call the editor at 512-477-6755 or email arentfro@texaspress.com

Subscription rate $6 per year
Single issue 50 cents

© Texas Press Messenger, 2014 (ISSN 1521-7523). Published monthly by Texas Press Service, a business affiliate of Texas Press Association. Periodicals postage paid at Austin, Texas, and additional mailing office, USPS 541-440. Printed by Hood County News in Granbury, Texas.