TPA announces 2013-14 board of directors
Wednesday, 10 July 2013 15:18


Texas Press Association is proud to announce the members of the 2013-14 TPA Board of Directors.

Greg Shrader, editor and publisher of The Lufkin News, was elected president of TPA on June 22 at the 2013 TPA Newspaper Leadership Retreat in Houston.

Shrader succeeds Russel Skiles, publisher of the Lamesa Press-Reporter, who became chairman of the board. Other officers include: First Vice President Randy Mankin, editor and publisher of The Eldorado Success; Second Vice President Glenn Rea, editor and publisher of The Cuero Record; and Treasurer Randy Keck, editor and publisher of The Community News in Aledo.

Continuing their terms as elected directors are: Patrick Canty, Odessa American; Jeff Berger, Hondo Anvil Herald; Bill Crist, Snyder Daily News; Sue Brown, Pleasanton Express; Brett McCormick, The Vernon Daily Record; and Chad Engbrock, The Wylie News.

Shrader appointed eight publishers to the TPA board: Brenda Miller-Fergerson, The Pasadena Citizen; Hank Hargrave, The Normangee Star; Jim Moser, Jackson County Herald-Tribune; Mike Mueck, Brenham Banner-Press; J.D. Davidson, Paris News; Kelli Barnes, Tyler County Booster; Jim Wilson, Waco Tribune-Herald; and Mike Winter, The Bowie News.

Five regional presidents and five regional vice presidents complete the board. Regional presidents include: Mark Engebretson, Lake Country Sun, North and East Texas Press Association; Wanda Brooks, Moore County News, Panhandle Press Association; Cyndy Slovak-Barton, Hays Free Press, South Texas Press Association; Danny Reneau, The Silsbee Bee, Texas Gulf Coast Press Association, and Mark Engebretson, Lake Country Sun, West Texas Press Association.

Regional vice presidents include: Don Treul, Tri County Leader, North and East Texas Press Association; Jeff Blackmon, County Star-News, Panhandle Press Association; Larry Hauk, Copperas Cove Leader-Press, South Texas Press Association; Tania French, Port Lavaca Wave, Texas Gulf Coast Press Association; Lisa Davis, Wise County Messenger, West Texas Press Association.


Messenger Staff

Micheal Hodges

Allison Rentfro

Advertising Consultant
Diane Byram

For questions or corrections please call the editor at 512-477-6755 or email

Subscription rate $6 per year
Single issue 50 cents

© Texas Press Messenger, 2014 (ISSN 1521-7523). Published monthly by Texas Press Service, a business affiliate of Texas Press Association. Periodicals postage paid at Austin, Texas, and additional mailing office, USPS 541-440. Printed by Hood County News in Granbury, Texas.